No Hoof, No Horse

Tybee’s feet, like those of many off-the-track thoroughbreds, are a work in progress.  Quality hoof growth doesn’t happen overnight.  It’s an ongoing process and it’s not uncommon for 6 months or more to pass before realizing the effects of any nutritional or supplemental changes.

Tybee has thin hoof walls which cause my farrier much stress when it comes time to nail on the shoes.  It was exciting news last month when he told me that he has been able to move Tybee up to a normal, horse-sized nail as his hoof wall has thickened just a bit from about 1/8″ to 1/4″.  We are constantly nervous that Tybee will pull a shoe in the pasture and tear up a foot…so much so that we double bell-boot him!

Project: “Improve Tybee’s Feet” has many components.  There is no doubt I spend far more time and money on his feet than I’ve ever spent on my own (and I had surgery on both of mine many years ago!).  The first step to improving his feet is good basic nutrition.  He is fed Triple Crown feed, a flax-based fat supplement, and alfalfa hay.  He is also turned out on good pasture with lots of grass (thanks, summer rains!).

The next step includes two hoof supplements.

My veterinarian recommended Biotin 100 by a company called NANRIC out of Kentucky. Tybee gets 1 oz per day and one bucket lasts 4+ months.  My vet told me not to expect to see any real improvement until after the first bucket…and she was right on!  Just as we approached the bottom of the bucket, my farrier noted the beginnings of hoof wall growth!

IMG_6676

The second supplement is SmartHoof Circulate from SmartPak.  It was recommended to me by a friend after many of her barnmates raved about it.  The goal is to improve overall hoof health with better circulation in the feet.  I do feel like I’ve noticed that Tybee is less foot sore in the days immediately following his shoeing since he’s been on this supplement.  So, for now at least, it stays in the arsenal.

FullSizeRender 32

Next come the topical treatments.  Keratex helps to strengthen Tybee’s hooves.  Stronger hooves hold shoes better.  Stronger hooves withstand wet/dry weather better.  Stronger hooves are the ultimate goal.  I apply Keratex (a.k.a Liquid Gold) to all four of Tybee’s feet almost every time I am at the barn.

IMG_6684

At least a few times a week, I apply Durasole to the soles of his feet in an attempt to toughen the sole and frog.  I also have a bottle of Keratex Nail Hole Disinfectant which I drip into his nail holes once a week or so to help prevent splitting and cracking.

IMG_6698
Almost due for new shoes!

This summer, keeping bell boots on Tybee has become quite the challenge.  He has destroyed or lost quite a few of them…pull ons, velco, double locking velcro…you name it!  I have a supply of spares parked outside his stall.  And just today, I spotted two more near the gate in his pasture!

IMG_6686

 

And for those times that he DOES manage to pull a shoe, I have a handy-dandy boot!  I bought this boot last summer when Govey had an abscess.  It worked great for his turnout when we needed to keep his foot clean.  Fortunately, it fits Tybee, too, and has held up really well.  And, to my great surprise, it actually stays on his foot!

So, as you can see, Tybee’s hoof care routine is quite tedious.  But, as they say, “no hoof, no horse”!  It’s worth it to me to put the time and money into his feet to keep them as strong and healthy as possible.

IMG_6697


2 thoughts on “No Hoof, No Horse

  1. dude, keratex is the TRUTH. i’m basically religious with that stuff on my one-year-post-track TB too. bc yea, it’s a constant struggle.

    i’ve heard great things about all the supplements you’re using as well. my guy is on a slightly different combo: he gets platinum performance and farrier’s formula. my understanding of the feed through supps is that it’s very much a long game, bc they have to grow out that whole new hoof…. but so far so good.

    we’ve also done some special shoeing. he was in leather rim pads for a while to give extra clearance and shock absorption. new farrier (we moved barns) changed that to full leather pads, which i’m not super sure about bc i don’t like not having access to the sole and frog, but at this point we’re mostly just experimenting.

    so… long story short, i know your pain haha. good luck with keeping those feet in good condition!

    Like

Leave a comment